Referral

Posted: March 26, 2011 in Poems
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Written by James Christopher Sheppard

 

Medicated and resuscitated.

Nothing oxidised the air.

 

Thick as oil,

clogging airways.

Cancerous,

Destructive.

 

Organs twist,

Almost burst.

Blood blackened.

It always comes back to this.

Iā€˜m going to refer you,

You will be contacted in three to four weeks.

Take care.

How have I not noticed that tree before?

This is decided.

Help is a myth.

A feeble attempt.

 

I think I only want help to please you.

I think I only carry on because you tell me I have to.

Potluck Poetry

Comments
  1. Sad, sad, very sad! I hope it’s only fictional!!!

  2. Gigi Ann says:

    Please tell us it’s just a poem and not real life.

  3. Evelyn says:

    The structure is unsettling, but
    that works with the subject matter.
    blah sad grrr!

  4. Jingle says:

    great outlet of troubled times in life, you shall feel all better after sharing it.

    A++

    šŸ™‚

  5. Jaan Pehchaan says:

    Very realistic. I pray that life is never subjected to this.

  6. A.B. Thomas says:

    A keenly sharp serrated write!

  7. Jamie Dedes says:

    So very sad. I’m glad to see “once was” in our response to Blaga. Well poemed. Thanks for participating in Potluck and sharing it.

  8. fiveloaf says:

    this is a real good poem on failure? hmm.. here’s mine james.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/frozen-fears/

  9. “Help is a myth.
    A feeble attempt.”

    These are profound statements.

    To My Hometown

  10. Sina Saberi says:

    Ouch!

  11. Very sad poem :/ But I do think I understand the perspective. Based on your prior comments I’m glad that this is not a representation of reality for you now šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

